Why You Don’t Want Points on Your Florida License
Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes Personal Injury Lawyers | Florida Law
Florida uses a point system to assess the risk posed by a driver. If you commit a traffic violation, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) can add points to your driving record.
When you receive too many points, the FLHSMV can suspend your license. You may also face other consequences, like increased auto insurance premiums.
Read on to learn why you do not want points on your Florida driver’s license and how to get points removed.
Florida’s Driver’s License Point System
Florida keeps track of the traffic citations you receive both inside and outside the state. Florida will add points to your driving record when you are cited for certain violations.
Examples of Point Values
Florida assigns point values to traffic violations based on their severity. A violation could have a point value of three, four, or six.
Violations with a six-point value include leaving the scene of an accident — essentially a hit-and-run — and committing a moving violation that causes a car accident injury.
Florida will add four points to your record for:
- Reckless driving
- Passing a school bus with its lights flashing
- Running a red light
Most other violations will either result in zero or three points added to your record. Some examples of three-point violations include:
- Careless driving
- Driving too fast for conditions
- Failure to yield
- Improper backing
- Running a stop sign
- Violating the child safety seat law
Bear in mind that multiple violations could lead to multiple point values added to your record. For example, if a police officer stops you for reckless driving and running a red light, you will receive four points for each violation for a total of eight points.
Effects of Points on Your Florida License
If you accumulate too many points in a rolling period, Florida will suspend your driver’s license.
Under Florida law, the FLHSMV can suspend your license for:
- 12 points within 12 months — thirty-day suspension
- 18 points within 18 months — three-month suspension
- 24 points within 36 months — one-year suspension
In other words, if you receive three speeding tickets and one citation for running a stop sign within 12 months, your license will likely be suspended for 30 days.
The rules are more stringent for drivers under 18. If a minor receives six points within 12 months, their license will be restricted for a year. They will only be able to drive for work, education, and other necessary purposes.
Your license may also be permanently revoked if you have too many points. If you receive points from 15 different violations within five years, you will lose your license. It will also be revoked if you commit three major offenses within five years.
You can keep certain points off your record by taking a driver improvement course. A Florida traffic violation attorney may be able to help you if you have accumulated points on your driver’s license.
How Long Do Points Stay on Your Florida Driving Record?
Most violations remain on your driving record for three to five years. However, more serious violations could stay on your record for ten to fifteen years, depending on the severity.
Other Consequences of Points on Your Florida License
Your driving record will affect you in other ways. Having too many points on your record will cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket even if you do not have enough points to trigger a license suspension.
If your license gets suspended, you might become uninsurable. You might also be banned from renting a car even after your license is reinstated.
Drivers who commit certain types of violations may have to complete an Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course, such as those who have had their license suspended, are habitual traffic offenders, or were court-ordered.
Contact the Pinellas County Personal Injury Law Firm Of Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes Personal Injury Lawyers for Help
For more information, please contact the Clearwater and St. Petersburg Personal Injury law firm of Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes Personal Injury Lawyers at the nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve in Pinellas County, and its surrounding areas:
Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes Personal Injury Lawyers – Clearwater
1875 N Belcher Rd. STE 201,
Clearwater, FL 33765,
Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes Personal Injury Lawyers – St. Petersburg
2560 1st Ave S,
St. Petersburg, FL 33712,