Are Changes Coming to Florida’s PIP Laws?
If the Florida Senate votes to enact recently-proposed changes, Floridian drivers might see some massive changes to their bodily injury insurance coverage and PIP laws. Here’s what to know about the proposed changes, when they might go in effect, and what they’ll mean for Floridians on the road.
The proposed changes, which already passed the Florida House by a 99-11 vote, concern Florida’s “no-fault” provision. This requires motorists to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage, commonly known as PIP. In the event of a car accident, PIP pays for medical costs—and funeral costs, if necessary—regardless of who was at fault in the accident. This law has been in effect since the 1970s, and the fact that the $10,000 minimum hasn’t changed since then has caused some to believe that Florida’s PIP laws are outdated.
The proposed changes aim to update Florida’s laws in two main ways:
- Motorists would be required to carry a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for the injury or death or one person, and $50,000 in coverage for the injury or death or two people
- The insurance for the at-fault person would pay, getting rid of PIP laws
For drivers who already carry at least $25,000 and $50,00 in bodily injury coverage, their insurance rates would likely go down if this change is enacted. However, one out of every five drivers in Florida do not carry enough bodily injury coverage, or do not carry it at all. For these people, the proposed changes could drive their rates up.
The Next Steps
Now that the proposed changes to PIP laws have passed the Florida House, they are onto the Florida Senate for another vote. If passed, it could be signed into law by governor Ron DeSantis and would take full effect on January 1, 2022.
The attorneys at Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes represent those involved in car accidents, motorcycle accidents, bicycle accidents, pedestrian accidents, and other types of personal injury matters. Our firm is one of the oldest personal injury law firms in Tampa Bay. There are no attorneys’ fees or costs unless we prevail for you. Call our office 24 hours a day at 727-796-8282 or simply click here to schedule a free case consultation.