Three Changes to Florida’s Laws in 2021!
- Posted by Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes
- Posted in BlogsCar AccidentsFlorida lawSocial Security DisabilityWorkers Compensation
New Year, New Laws! Here are three important changes to Florida’s laws that you should be aware of in 2021, especially if you’re receiving Social Security Disability or applying for Workers’ Compensation!
Changes to Workers’ Compensation
The Florida Insurance Commissioner issued a final order approving a statewide overall decrease of 6.6% for Florida workers’ compensation insurance rates. This applies to both new and renewed workers’ compensation insurance policies effective in Florida as of Jan. 1, 2021. This is partially because of the decrease in workers’ compensation claims throughout Florida in 2020.
An Increase for SSD Recipients
In 2021, nearly 70 million Social Security recipients will see a 1.3% cost-of-living increase to their monthly benefits. The 1.3% bump for 2021 is smaller than 2020’s 1.6% increase. For the average Social Security recipient, the 1.3% raise amounts to just $20 per month on an average monthly payout of $1,543.
New School Bus Rules
As of Jan. 1, penalties will be doubled for illegally passing a school bus. Under the new law, the penalty for failure to stop for a school bus increases from a minimum of $100 to $200. If a second offense is committed in five years, the person’s license will be suspended for up to 1 year. Additionally, the penalty for passing a school bus on the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal increases from a minimum of $200 to $400. If a second offense is committed in five years, the person’s license can be suspended up to two years.
Happy New Year!
In 2021, stay aware of these and other laws to keep yourself and your family safe and informed throughout the year.
The attorneys at Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes represent those involved in car accidents, motorcycle accidents, bicycle accidents, pedestrian accidents, and other types of personal injury matters. Our firm is one of the oldest personal injury law firms in Tampa Bay. There are no attorneys’ fees or costs unless we prevail for you. Call our office 24 hours a day at 727-796-8282 or simply click here to schedule a free case consultation.